Hierarchies of the Angels

What is the Order of Angels? An order, or hierarchy of angels is a ranking system of angels. Higher ranks have greater authority over lower ranks, plus the various ranks have differences in appearance, such as varying numbers of wings or faces.

The Three Hierarchies/3 Choirs of Angels each = 9 Orders of Angels

First Hierarchy

  1. Seraphim - an angel of the highest order of the ninefold celestial hierarchy, often winged beings, associated with light, ardor, and purity. They have a fiery passion for doing God’s good work.

  2. Cherubim - an angel of the second order of the ninefold celestial hierarchy, attending on God, sometimes depicted as a lion or bull with eagle’s wings Their purpose is to Guard God's Glory, Keep Records, and Help People Grow Spiritually.

  3. Thrones - third in the rank of the ninefold Hierarchy, they are literally "Carriers of the Thrones of God.” They are the Angels of humility, peace and submission.

Second Hierarchy

  1. Dominions - first in the Second Hierarchy of Angels and fourth in the ninefold, these Angels are said to keep the world in proper order, by delivering God’s justice in unjust situations, giving unconditional love, showing mercy to humans and helping lower rank Angels stay organized and perform their work efficiently.

  2. Virtues - second in the Second Hierarchy of Angels and fifth in the ninefold, Virtues, also known as “the shining ones,” are known for their control of the elements. They are the Spirits of Motion, assist in governing nature, help with miracles and encourage humans to strengthen their faith in God.

  3. Powers- third in the Second Hierarchy of Angels and sixth in the ninefold, they are Warrior Angels, defending against evil, the cosmos and also humanity. The Powers also help people who are wrestling with passions and vices.

Third Hierarchy

  1. Principalities - first in the Third Hierarchy of Angels and seventh in the ninefold, these being have command over the lower Angels and direct the fulfillment of divine orders. As they are also known as Princedoms or Rules, the Principalities directly watch over large groups and institutions, including nations. Though they are wise and powerful, they are furthest from God in the angelic hierarchy so they are better able to communicate with humanity in ways we can understand.

  2. Archangels - second in the Third Hierarchy of Angels and eighth in the ninefold, they are called the great heralds of the Good News because they are sent by God to deliver important messages to mankind. Archangels are the ones that communicate and interact with us. Michael, Raphael, Gabriel and Uriel are the most well known Archangels.

  3. Angels - third in the Third Hierarchy of Angels and last in the ninefold, these beings are closest to the material world and human beings. By delivering the prayers to God and other messages to people on earth, they are most caring and social to assist those who ask for help. Angels have various roles in serving God, including visiting humans when they are in trouble or are called on.

Guardian Angels

Our Guardian Angels are your immediate protectors. You have at least one Guardian Angel who has been with you since you were born and will be with you through the time you transition from this Earth. Your Guardian Angel is there to protect you, love you, comfort you and above all, be your friend.

26 views0 comments